THE EXCELLENCE IN QUALITY SECURITY FOR LEATHER BRACELETS

Neuchâtel, September 25th, 2019

CALIFORNIA ALLIGATOR BAN
POSITION OF AQC

 

Technically in place since 1970, the ban of alligator skins trade in the state of California has to be implemented from January 2020.

 

Context:

The Article 653o of the California Penal Code prohibits the import and trade of parts of alligator or crocodile. This text has already benefited from two moratoriums, the legislative calendar no longer allows action against the implementation. So the ban on trade in parts of alligator or crocodile will be effective from 1 January 2020 in California.

Consequently, the importation and sale of watches equipped with alligator leather or crocodile leather bracelets in California will, from next year, be punishable by $ 1,000 to $ 5,000 fine and up to 6 months imprisonment per violation. The distribution of products to this new requirement must therefore be adapted.


A decision damaging to the protection of the environment ...

According to AQC, the decision taken by the State of California sends a negative message to consumers and to the industry in general, extremely damaging the actions already undertaken by the entire industry.

  • Alligator mississippiensis leather* is today the material with the highest level of traceability in the leather industry. Indeed, all actors are subject to strict requirements under the Washington Convention (CITES). In addition, additional traceability requirements are defined in the AQC specifications applicable to tanneries and Leather Bracelets manufacturers. Compliance with these strict requirements is regularly checked on site by independent auditors.

To these guarantees, AQC is adding further transparency requirements with the RedThread Traceability Project being developed and conducted with the main actors of the entire supply chain: farmers, tanners, bracelet manufacturers and maisons horlogères.

  • In addition, the use of Alligator mississippiensis skins has been one of the most powerful drivers of conservation of the species. The commercial use of skins has enabled the establishment of a fund dedicated to a government program. Regularly quoted as a success by the United Nations and animal welfare associations, it allows authorities, biologists and NGOs to implement the necessary actions to ensure the renewal of the species, the protection of its natural habitat and its good cohabitation with Humans and environment.

... which implies a collaboration of all the supply chain

The decision taken by the State of California does not question the use of the Alligator mississippiensis skins by AQC Members which are one of the safest materials used for the manufacture of bracelets.

However, this ban shows, once again, the need to organize and harmonize transparency and traceability within the concerned players of the supply chain on an objective and scientific basis, which is the mission of AQC.

 

 

* 99% of AQC crocodile wristband production is in Alligator mississippiensis (American Alligator)

 

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba

news

 

Due to COVID-19 virus, AQC has implemented a specific action plan to ensure protection of its employees and limitation of the spread of the virus.

In view of this exceptional situation, AQC has also reduced its activity rate while ensuring the pursuit of a minimal activity on leather bracelet compliance.

 

Please note that Tanners and Watch Brands Workshops, expected in May, may be organized on line. We kindly ask you to continue to save these dates : Tanners WS May 19 - Watch Brands WS May 26

 

In solidarity with people affected by the virus and fully mobilized to continue to serve the interest of the leather bracelet safety, we thank you for your understanding and your confidence. 

 

objectifs durables 00

 

 

California Alligator Ban - the official position of AQC members 

 

 

 


AQC_Privacy_Policy.pdf

L’EXCELLENCE DANS LE CONTRÔLE QUALITÉ DES BRACELETS CUIR

Neuchâtel, le 25 septembre 2019

CALIFORNIA ALLIGATOR BAN
POSITION DE L’AQC

 

Techniquement en place depuis 1970, l'interdiction du commerce de peaux d’alligator dans l’État de Californie doit être appliquée à partir de janvier 2020.

 

Rappel du contexte :

En effet, l'article 653o du Code pénal californien, interdit l'importation et le commerce de parties d'alligator ou crocodile. Ce texte a déjà bénéficié de deux moratoires, le calendrier législatif ne permet plus d’action contre la mise en application et l'interdiction du commerce de parties d'alligator ou crocodile sera effective dès le 1er janvier 2020 en Californie.

Par conséquent, l’importation et la mise sur le marché de montres équipées de bracelets en cuir d'alligator ou de crocodile en Californie sera, dès l’an prochain, punissable de 1'000$ à 5’000$ d’amende et jusqu’à 6 mois d’emprisonnement par violation commise. La distribution des produits à cette nouvelle exigence doit donc être adaptée.

 

Une décision dommageable pour la protection de l’environnement…

Pour l’AQC cette décision de l’État de Californie envoie un message négatif aux consommateurs et à l’industrie en général, extrêmement dommageable envers les actions déjà entreprises par toute la filière.

  • Le cuir d’Alligator Mississippiensis* est aujourd’hui le matériau qui bénéficie du plus haut niveau de traçabilité dans la filière cuir. En effet, tous les acteurs sont soumis à des exigences strictes relevant de la Convention de Washington (CITES). Des exigences supplémentaires de traçabilités sont, en outre, définies dans les cahiers des charges AQC applicables aux Tanneries et Fabricants de bracelets. Le respect de ces strictes exigences est régulièrement vérifié sur site par des auditeurs indépendants.

A ces garanties, l’AQC ajoute des exigences supplémentaires de transparence avec le RedThread Traceability Project, en cours de développement et mené avec les principaux acteurs de toute la supply chain : fermiers, tanneurs, fabricants de bracelets et maisons horlogères.

  • L'utilisation de peaux d’Alligator mississippiensis est l'un des plus puissants moteurs de la conservation de l’espèce. Alors que l’Alligator mississippiensis fait partie des espèces menacées, l’usage commercial des peaux a permis la mise en place d’un fonds dédié à un programme gouvernemental. Régulièrement cité comme un succès par les Nations-Unis et les associations de protection des animaux, ce programme permet aux autorités, biologistes et ONG de mettre en place les actions indispensables afin d’assurer le renouvellement de l’espèce, l’entretien de son habitat naturel et sa bonne cohabitation avec l’Homme et l’environnement.

…Qui implique une collaboration de toute la supply chain

La décision de l’État de Californie ne remet pas en question l’utilisation de l’Alligator mississippienssis par les membres de l’AQC, qui demeure aujourd’hui l’un des matériaux les plus surs utilisés pour la fabrication de bracelets.

Toutefois, cette interdiction montre, une fois encore, la nécessité d’organiser et harmoniser la transparence et la traçabilité au sein de la supply chain sur une base objective, scientifique en coopération avec tous les acteurs concernés de la Supply chain, ce qui est la raison d’être de l’AQC.

 

 

*99% de la production de « bracelets croco » des membres AQC est réalisée en peaux d’Alligator mississippiensis (Alligator Américain)

 

 

FaLang translation system by Faboba

news

objectifs durables 00

 

 

California Alligator Ban - La position oficielle des membres AQC au sujet d'interdiction de vente du cuir d'alligator en Californie

 

 

 

 


Politique de gestion des données personnelles.